New Member for Warringah, Zali Steggall will join Australian political and industry representatives to discuss the future of energy storage at the Australian Energy Storage (AES) 2019 Conference and Exhibition on June 13-14.

Fresh off the heels of her victory in the May 2019 federal election, Zali Steggall has been announced as the newest federal political speaker on the AES 2019 conference roster.

Ms Steggall joins federal parliamentarians and multiple levels of government representatives on a speaker lineup that features dozens of influential delegates from all corners of the energy storage industry.

“With so much renewable energy coming online in Australia, and both large and small scale batteries now starting to be installed alongside, it’s an exciting time to be in the space,” Ms Steggall said.

“I’m really looking forward to this year’s conference to see what future solutions we can create together.”

The AES 2019 Conference and Exhibition will provide a space for federal representatives, energy system providers, utilities and other Australian and international attendees to meet and discuss key issues in the storage sector.

Ms Steggall’s presentation will explore storage policy ideas and how her division intends to work constructively towards a better energy and climate future.

“I’m proud to say my own electorate, Warringah, has a dedicated group of energy developers who have contributed up to 1GW of installed capacity already — yet challenges remain,” Ms Steggall said.

“A lack of targets for both storage and renewable energy to 2030, and no commitments for funding for ARENA or the CEFC, could create problems for the transition to the future, clean grid.

“If we want to keep the boom going, we need clear policy directions from our leaders.

“I believe conferences like these are a great way to gain first hand knowledge for people on the ground and develop ideas that eventually turn into policy reality.”

Ms Steggall’s talk will be complemented by presentations from a range of government executives and legislators, offering AES 2019 attendees a comprehensive look at the regulatory climate around energy storage.

Other confirmed AES 2019 speakers include:

  • The Hon. Ben Franklin MLC, Parliamentary Secretary for Energy, NSW Government
  • Terry Daly, Director of Energy Programs, Department of Planning and Environment, NSW Government
  • Amy Kean, Director of Energy Infrastructure and Emerging Technologies, NSW Department of Planning and Environment
  • Ian Kay, Chief Financial Officer, ARENA
  • Simon Brooker, Executive Director, CEFC
  • And many more

Hear more about the future of energy storage policy and the newest industry trends at Australian Energy Storage 2019, running from 13 – 14 June at the International Convention Centre in Sydney.

For more information or to register, visit

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Energy Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?