New AER Chair appointed

The Australian Energy Regulator has a new appointed full-time Chair and State/Territory member. 

Clare Savage will commence as the Chair on 14 October, for a five year period. 

The AER is responsible for regulating energy networks, retailers and wholesale markets. It also protects the interests of household and small business consumers by enforcing the National Energy Retail Law.

Ms Savage has extensive experience in electricity and gas market design, network pricing, retail market regulation and energy governance.

Most recently, through her role as the Independent Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board, Ms Savage promoted better coordination between each of the three energy market bodies to enable a whole of system approach, and she oversaw the delivery of a number of key Finkel Review recommendations.

Energy Networks Australia CEO, Andrew Dillon, has congratulated Ms Savage on her appointment. 

Mr Dillion said Clare would bring to her new role deep experience as Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board and through previous roles in the energy sector.

“Energy Networks look forward to working with the AER and Ms Savage on continuing to deliver benefits to customers.

“As networks around Australia connect record levels of renewable generation and a wide array of distributed energy resources, ensuring all customers benefit from their values and flexibility will be key.

“A critical first step in that will be the right investments in the right places with smart technologies to promote visibility and fair access.”

Mr Dillon said incentives and innovation schemes that the AER had delivered in consultation with networks had helped drive continuing efficiencies in networks.

“We look forward to these continuing and evolving.

“Networks will continue to explore new areas of partnership with the AER, including its valuable leadership  of the constructive tariff roundtable process to deliver fairer pricing reforms.”

Mr Dillon thanked outgoing Chair, Paula Conboy, for her service and commitment to collaborative and constructive discussions between networks, the regulator and customers.

“Paula’s commitment to the New Reg Trial with AusNet saw strongly practical reforms to the way networks interact and consult with their customers, which will benefit all.”

The Australian Energy Council’s Chief Executive, Sarah McNamara, said that Ms Savage brought a strong track record in senior energy sector roles, including most recently as Deputy Chair of the Energy Security Board.

“Clare’s broad experience, knowledge and understanding of the energy market and energy sector generally will be invaluable at a time of considerable change. This appointment is recognition of that and we wish Clare all the best in her new role.

“The energy industry looks forward to continuing a productive relationship with the AER and its Chair.”

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Energy Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?