The 2023 Clean Energy Award winners have been announced, with the awards event helping to bring light to those who have significantly contributed to Australia’s progression towards clean energy. 

The Australian Clean Energy Summit (ACES) NAB Gala Dinner for 2023 was held in Sydney earlier this week with awards announced across the categories of collaboration, First Nations engagement and participation, diversity and inclusion, media and outstanding contribution to industry.

Clean Energy Council Chief Executive, Kane Thornton, said that this year’s awards highlight the hard work of organisations and individuals, helping to accelerate the country’s clean energy transition. 

“Our sector is navigating the greatest transformation of our economy since the Industrial Revolution, and this year’s award winners have led the way in delivering the benefits of clean, low-cost renewable energy to Australia’s future success and prosperity,” said Mr Thornton.

“I congratulate and thank all of our award winners for their leadership and achievements, and all nominees from a competitive field in 2023.” 

The winners

The Collaboration Award, which recognises an organisation, individual or group that has worked to build consensus and progress a reform that facilitates reuse of solar panels and address an emerging challenge for the solar industry was won by Simply Solar. 

The First Nations Engagement and Participation Award was won by the First Nations Clean Energy Network, in recognition of outstanding leadership and positive community engagement with First Nations communities as the clean energy transition progresses.

Hydro Tasmania Diversity and Inclusion Manager, Lucy Aird, and the world’s largest independent renewable energy company, RES, were joint winners of the Diversity and Inclusion Award, recognising their respective efforts in improving and encouraging diversity and inclusion within the clean energy sector.

RenewEconomy’s Energy Insiders podcast hosts, Giles Parkinson and David Leitch, and the Guardian environment reporter Graham Readfern were joint winners of the Media Award, acknowledging their work in leading stories that have demonstrated a meaningful impact on the conversations around clean energy in Australia.

Former New South Wales treasurer and minister for energy Matt Kean won this year’s Outstanding Contribution to Clean Energy Award, in recognition and appreciation of his decisive political leadership in support of clean energy and establishing strong ambition and effective policy platform to drive the state’s clean energy transition.

The full list of winners and award finalists are available here. 

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Energy Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?