board room

The Australian Energy Regulator (AER) has announced the appointment of two new board members.

Lynne Gallagher, who currently serves as the CEO of Energy Consumers Australia, will join the board on 5 June 2023. 

Jarrod Ball, an Adjunct Associate Professor at Deakin Business School and Chief Economist for the Committee for Economic Development of Australia (CEDA), will join the AER on 22 May 2023. 

Mr Ball has held several board and committee positions with more than 20 years’ experience across government and business.

Ms Gallagher brings with her over 20 years’ sector leadership, and invaluable knowledge and experience in the energy market, retail markets, and network businesses on the demand and supply side. Ms Gallagher has also held several executive positions in the Australian Public Service, financial sector and served on multiple boards and committees.

Ms Gallagher has played a hugely significant role at Energy Consumers Australia, helping build the organisation from the ground up, initially as Director of Research, establishing and driving many of ECA’s flagship projects such as the Energy Consumer Sentiment and Behavioural studies, Small Business Tariff Tracker, PowerShift research and the partnership with Monash University in the Digital Energy Futures project.

Having spent five years as Director of Research, she was appointed to lead the organisation in March 2020. As CEO, Ms Lynne led the development of a new impact-based three year strategic plan and drove an evolution of the organisation’s policy, communications, and strategic engagement functions.

Jacqueline Crawshaw will be appointed Interim CEO for Energy Consumers Australia, following Ms Gallagher’s departure, as the Board runs a process to appoint a new CEO.

AER Chair, Clare Savage, said the appointment of Mr Ball and Ms Gallagher brings further consumer, technical and economic expertise that will contribute significantly to the AER’s continued work to support energy consumers.

“We’re delighted to welcome Lynne and Jarrod to our Board and look forward to them commencing their roles in coming weeks,” Ms Savage said.

“Their experience, and breadth and depth of industry knowledge is an incredible asset to the AER, and will play a pivotal role in ensuring that we continue to engage with our broad stakeholder base and achieve real outcomes for our consumers.”

Both appointments are for five years and fill the vacancies created by the resignation of Catriona Lowe and retirement of Mr Eric Groom PSM.

Related articles

Leave a reply

©2024 Energy Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?