The Australian Energy Market Commission (AEMC) has welcomed the appointment of two new commissioners.

The COAG Energy Council announced that Charles Popple and Allison Warburton will join the AEMC, bringing the total number of commissioners to four.

AEMC Chairman, John Pierce, said, “Allison brings extensive experience in advising energy users, market participants and governments to her new role as AEMC Commissioner. Her legal and corporate background, and her particular expertise in renewable energy and emissions reduction will be instrumental in the realisation of the AEMC’s work program.

“Charles has been an active participant in the energy market reform process since the 1990s. His proficiency in engineering and technical planning, and his international experience are particularly relevant to the challenges inherent in the Australian energy market’s transformation.”

Mr Popple’s appointment is effective 17 February 2018 for a five year term and Ms Warburton’s appointment will be effective from 12 March 2018 for a four year term.

Retiring commissioner Neville Henderson’s term will conclude on 16 February 2018.

Mr Henderson said, “On behalf of the current commissioners, our Chief Executive Anne Pearson and the AEMC’s staff, I’d like to congratulate Charles and Allison on their appointments and welcome them to the Commission.

“The complementary experience and expertise of our two new commissioners will capably equip the Commission to continue to fulfil our vision of flexible and resilient markets that benefit consumers.” 

Related articles

©2024 Energy Magazine. All rights reserved


We're not around right now. But you can send us an email and we'll get back to you, asap.


Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?